Flakes, Freeing of Hands and Oven Fried Chicken

Just. One. Flake… fluffy and sparkling, spinning through the cosmos… and I will know I can dance and twirl through this grey day; that transformation is on it’s way.  That this moment of my existence isn’t what defines me.

And there they came…this army of white and although there may not be a trace of them left at morning light this heart has been lifted God expectant. Mother’s oven baked chicken and gravy with mashed potatoes simmering on the stove and our help girl reminding what the teacher says every day:

Hands free…

Eyes on me…

Quiet…

Be still…

Listen…

Ahh, the secret I’ve been missing all day. I pull open the door to mountains shrouded in fog, suck in deep air and free…free these hands towards heaven reaching for grace arriving just in time.

Mom’s Oven Fried Chicken

3 lbs chicken leg quarters soaked overnight (or a few hours) in salt water

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour

Salt

Pepper

Seasoned Salt (I used Trader Joes)

Olive oil

Pull off any skin from chicken pieces and discard.  Rinse with water and pat dry with paper towel.  Heat 1/2″ oil in skillet (I love my cast iron) until very hot.  Season chicken to taste with salt and pepper.  Dredge in flour and place in oil (take care! I have burned myself from the oil splashing). Sprinkle with the seasoned salt.  Brown each side and place in a 9X13 pan.  Bake at 350 uncovered for hour to an hour and a half until a nice golden brown and meat is pulling away from the bone.

Pan Gravy

In the same skillet used to brown chicken, remove all but 2-3 Tbl oil. Turn heat on medium.  Add 1/4 cup flour.  Stir to scrape any drippings from the pan into the gravy.  Add 1 1/2 cup of water and 3 tsp. or more of bouillon (I love the brand: Better Than Bouillon Chicken flavor) and let simmer while stirring to the correct thickness.  You can always add more water if too thick or let simmer longer. Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste and voila! A wonderful home cooked meal for a cold night in waiting for snow 🙂

oven fried chicken

 

 

4 thoughts on “Flakes, Freeing of Hands and Oven Fried Chicken

  1. Your recipe for oven fried chicken , mashed potatoes and gravy looks yummy! This is exactly what I need to fix for my family to fill their bellies and soul with my love! This is
    the Lord fills our soul if we let him.

Leave a Reply

